Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

I wanted to say that Phelps is a top of the line Funeral Service Travis and his team did a amazing job for my Husband in a life changing event I highly Recommend Phelps and Travis the service went as planned ever step once again thanks to Travis and his team.

5 stars
Gloria Wiant January 17, 2022

Travis and his team made arrangements super simple. Everything went smoothly. Travis has an amazingly comforting tone and is excellent in his profession. They made services beautiful and small touches unforgettable. Thank you to Phelps Funeral Home for being there and making sure every detail was discussed and carried out. What we experienced as family during mourning was much appreciated especially their professionalism.

5 stars
Jennifer Martin October 15, 2021

From the removal of my Dad from Blue Ridge Hospice to Travis helping with arrangements, everything was done with compassion and care. Excellent service. The family appreciates everything y'all have done for us.

5 stars
Kimberley Vanscoy Oliveto December 28, 2021

Phelps Funeral & Cremation Service made the passing of our brother Kenneth Beauchamp easier. They were very compassionate, extremely helpful and made the whole Memorial Service memorable. Michael, Travis and the whole team were great. Thank you for making our brother's passing easier.

5 stars
Pam Beauchamp Seitz May 13, 2020

They are so sweet and nice friendly helpful. There for you no matter what you need family comes first with Phelps.

5 stars
Helen Mason February 01, 2018

Very nice

4 stars
Beverly Teets January 18, 2020

Travis was great to work with in making our arrangements. The facility and services were all excellent. Kelye was so helpful during our visitation.

5 stars
The Smoot Family

No One expects to loose a daughter at 35 years old. You were there for us, even offering to bring her to our home. Your kindness you may never know how much it meant to us all. God Bless you and your staff. Thank you for all your help with our daughter, Samantha. Marybeth & Tom Sherwood & Jim

5 stars
Samantha ANne Curnutte August 29, 2018

When I needed Phelps, they were there with little notice. I am thankful for the service they provide to our community.

5 stars
Ralph Hensley January 31, 2020

There are not enough words to express our thanks & gratitude to Travis for making a very difficult situation so much easier to get through. The facility is superb! We always felt "at home" when meeting with Travis & during our visitation evening. The offer of the limo was very much appreciated & made the journey from the church to the cemetery so relaxing & worry-free. Everyone made us feel so cared for and everything was top notch. We were able to provide a very special remembrance for our loved one. Our loved one looked very much at peace and that gave us all comfort. Everything was completed just as promised and we feel the services provided were at a reasonable cost. Again, we thank Travis and the entire staff for helping us through the difficult loss of our loved one.

5 stars
The Frazier Family

Seemed to be very helpful during our most stressful time

4 stars
Rachel Twigg February 09, 2020

Everything was perfect as always. I've never been to a funeral home that made me feel that we're all family. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you did for me and my family. You made my loved one look like he was sleeping. Thank you so much for that.

5 stars
The Dodson Family

The quality and accuracy of the services provided was exceptional. My father had already chosen what he wanted and it was perfect. He looked wonderful and I would absolutely recommend your firm to others. Thank you so very much for your kindness. It was so appreciated.

5 stars
The Triplett Family

I cannot thank Phelps enough for their compassion and kindness in their care of handling my loved one. Travis made things easy to understand and all was done in a timely manner. Phelps made such a difficult time much easier and I am so thankful for that.

5 stars
Shannon Mathews September 18, 2021

Thank you for your kind professionalism as you guided us through a very difficult time. I will be forever grateful. Best to you and the staff. Jeff Stern

5 stars
Edwin Louis Stern May 31, 2018

Mr. Nesslerodt handled my mother's passing in a way that made a very difficult time a lot less difficult. Highly recommend this institution!

5 stars
Werner Franz Doerwaldt April 22, 2019

Thank you all so much for your kindness, patience and understanding during this time in our family's life. You handled everything with extreme professionalism and everything was perfect. Garnetta looked beautiful, she would have been so happy with how good her hair looked. Thanks again, we are so grateful. Garnetta Johnson's Familiy

5 stars
Garnetta Madora Lineburg Johnson August 06, 2018

Michael was the upmost professional during my family's time of grief. He listened to all the of the concerns and gave us the best answers to all. Highly recommended.

5 stars
Mariana Johnson May 20, 2017

Michael and Staff Thank you for everything during this difficult time. The special caring touch meant so much. God Bless

5 stars
Pam Franklin

Dear Michael and Staff What a pleasure to have your staff involved with our annual 5k/10k Butterfly Race for Blue Ridge Hospice. You helped raise over $20k for patients lacking resources. THANK YOU!! Warmly Janne Mezzatesta

5 stars
Blue Ridge Hospice October 15, 2016

A huge thank you for all that you did with helping Robyn Graves and her family with all the arrangements for her brother, Ty Carper. You made a difficult time much easier.

5 stars
Steve DuBrueler April 02, 2017

Dear Travis and Michael: On behalf of the entire extended McCracken family, please accept our deepest appreciation for your thoughtful and considerate service in recent days. From January when we first contacted you through today, your affirmation of you being there for our family has been a great source of comfort, What may be considered small professional actions in your daily routine, are magnified and have a positive impact for a family in grief. Your compassionate manner and willingness to adapt to our needs provided a much needed sense of assuredness. We are grateful for Cal's life and relieved that he is now in God's hands. We have felt God's presence in all things and will be forever thankful for your assistance.

5 stars
Bobbie and Doug Joyner April 01, 2017

Hello Mr. Phelps: On behalf of my family and friends, I'd like to say what a wonderful job you did for us on November 1, 2014. At every moment you treated everyone with great respect and compassion. My father, Rev. Floyd Murphy, would have enjoyed knowing you. You two would have had a lot to talk about and he would have appreciated your loving spirit. We did not know what to expect of the process. Your guidance allowed us to feel confident that we were in good hands. On the day of the service, I remember seeing you standing guard in many different places, moving around, watching, protecting the family and guests. Your presence and kindness was most most welcome and will not be forgotten. Thank you and may God bless you.

5 stars
Jayne Murphy November 01, 2014

Phelps answered our call on Easter Day. They were fantastic to work with, allowing us to choose what we wanted instead of pushing us with unwanted items. The caring professionalism is unmatched. We felt cared for and in good hands. No surprise fees or charges. I would highly recommend them.

5 stars
Tracie Clawson May 10, 2021

I cannot thank Phelps enough for their compassion and kindness in their care of handling my loved one. Travis made things easy to understand and all was done in a timely manner. Phelps made such a difficult time much easier and I am so thankful for that.

5 stars
Shannon Mathews September 18, 2021

Travis and staff are compassionate and caring. Phelps went above and beyond for our family at this terribly difficult time. Thank you for your kindness.

5 stars
Carolyn Gartner April 23, 2020

The most devastating and unfathomable time of my life happened when my only sibling, my beloved brother Ian, passed away unexpectedly. My family was reeling, panicking, so incredibly unable to decide what to do next or how to move forward with honoring him. He passed in Arizona, hundreds of miles from our hometown in Winchester, Va. We were simply lost. When we came to Phelps, Travis Nesslerodt was patient, calm, understanding, and very knowledgeable. He made things as seamless and simple as possible so we could focus on our grief. He helped us work through our budget and make decisions, even when we were indecisive, as well as announcements, services, and cremation. Something I was intently set on and saw as necessary for my grieving process was an open viewing. Travis was gentle and sensitive as he explained what I could expect considering my brother would have been gone for 12 days by the time of the viewing and would have to be moved from Arizona back to Virginia. Travis was the one who prepared my brother for the viewing. He kept us informed on his progress. He let us know what we’d see on the day of and arranged a private viewing for us before the open service for friends so we could have a more intimate goodbye. Ian had many who loved him. People filled both the viewing room and another room for those who wanted to pay respects but didn’t feel comfortable with an open casket. Travis gave us our space and time with one another while also making sure our every need was seen to. I’m not even sure how he managed it all with such compassion, grace, and sympathy and moving between so many people. I’d love to never have to experience this pain and sadness again, but as the inevitable will happen and I will likely experience more loss as time goes on, Phelps and Travis are the only people I’ll choose to work with in Virginia. They have proven impeccable service and so much respect for those who’ve passed and those of us who remain behind to grieve and celebrate our fond memories.

5 stars
Mollie Stanford May 19, 2019

Phelps Funeral Home arranges both my Mom and Dads funeral. They were very compassionate and professional. They did an excellent job. Would highly recommend them.

5 stars
Stephens City January 21, 2019

Good people

5 stars
Joseph Lewis January 22, 2020

Overall excellent service-Thank you! Appreciate the timeliness of getting the death certificate to us.

5 stars
The Brumback Family

I had never visited your facility before. I was extremely surprised and happy we picked you for our service. I would definitely recommend Phelps to all my family & friends.

5 stars
The Price Family

Friendly service

3 stars
jeremy states February 02, 2020

The family of Warren E. Brill Jr. appreciates all that you did for us at this sad time. Everything was excellent. God Bless each of you.

5 stars
The Brill Family

Thank you for helping my family maneuver through the hours and days immediately following my father's death. Your kindness during this time was so appreciated. You made a very unpleasant experience easier on us and we are so grateful we chose your services. In Peace & Love Kim Wachtel

5 stars
Steven Vermillion January 14, 2019

Travis and staff are compassionate and caring . Phelps went above and beyond for our family at this terribly difficult time Thank you for your kindness

5 stars
Carolyn Gartner April 23, 2020

Travis makes everything seen so easy in dealing with a loved one's passing. My mother was cremated and the way everything was set up, was outstanding. Travis made sure everything was just the way I wanted it to be. I always felt comfortable and I would recommend anybody to reach out to you.

5 stars
The Strother Family

Travis and Staff, There are simply not enough words to express our gratitude for everything you did to help us get through a very difficult time. We felt your caring and compassion from our very first meeting. Everyone was so wonderful and gave us such peace and comfort. We will be forever grateful.

5 stars
Joyce Frazier, Kathy Smith & Family

This place did an excellent job!!! Travis was great!!! Nothing out of line,or unethical goes on here,period!! They made a horrific experience very easy on my family!! And for that,thank you Travis,and Phelps for everything!!

5 stars
Matthew A. Hines July 02, 2015

Michael Phelps and staff, this is way over due. When my partner's mom was passing and we knew it was near, we reached out to you, and you told us to call you and you would take care of everything! WOW! Your response at 2:00 in the morning was great!! I have to say from the beginning to the end you guys were great!! This is the 3rd person I had to have a coming home for and using others for the last 2, this was by far the best experience. Travis you are awesome. The two gentlemen who have to take care of the bodies, and deal with emotional folks like me, my goodness you are fantastic! I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart!! You made it easy for us to let ho! Thank you David and Joerg

5 stars
Hildegard Gertrud Eichmann August 06, 2018

I have found Mike Phelps the most professional and compassionate person in his field. They were there for both of my parents and I would highly recommend them to anyone.

5 stars
David Johnson May 20, 2017

Thank you so much for making this process as stress free and smooth as possible. Most of all for honoring Grace's (Edmonds)wishes with dignity. Sincerely, Stacey Fyre

5 stars
Stacey Frye October 20, 2017

Dear Michael Thank you so much for taking time to chauffeur Bruce and Pat in your 1966 Cadillac Limousine. The experience was definitely a highlight of the evening on their special anniversary. Your wonderful act of kindness is greatly appreciated.

5 stars
Kama & Scott

Travis Thank you so much for your wonderful care during preparations for the funeral of H. Harold Lehman. Your gentle directions the of the funeral was also much appreciated. Sincerely The Lehman Family

5 stars
The Lehman Family June 15, 2017

Phelps Funeral & Cremation Service made the passing of our brother Kenneth Beauchamp easier. They were very compassionate, extremely helpful and made the whole Memorial Service memorable. Michael, Travis and the whole team were great. Thank you for making out brother’s passing easier.

5 stars
Pam Beauchamp Seitz May 14, 2020

Dear Michael Thank you so much for your professionalism and compassion in handling my father's( Stuart B. Allen) final arrangements. We will miss him tremendously, but at least he is no longer in pain.

5 stars
Alexis Sherrill November 26, 2014