Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Phelps Funeral & Cremation Service made the passing of our brother Kenneth Beauchamp easier. They were very compassionate, extremely helpful and made the whole Memorial Service memorable. Michael, Travis and the whole team were great. Thank you for making our brother's passing easier.

Pam Beauchamp Seitz May 13, 2020

I cannot thank Phelps enough for their compassion and kindness in their care of handling my loved one. Travis made things easy to understand and all was done in a timely manner. Phelps made such a difficult time much easier and I am so thankful for that.

Shannon Mathews September 18, 2021

Travis was great to work with in making our arrangements. The facility and services were all excellent. Kelye was so helpful during our visitation.

The Smoot Family

There are not enough words to express our thanks & gratitude to Travis for making a very difficult situation so much easier to get through. The facility is superb! We always felt "at home" when meeting with Travis & during our visitation evening. The offer of the limo was very much appreciated & made the journey from the church to the cemetery so relaxing & worry-free. Everyone made us feel so cared for and everything was top notch. We were able to provide a very special remembrance for our loved one. Our loved one looked very much at peace and that gave us all comfort. Everything was completed just as promised and we feel the services provided were at a reasonable cost. Again, we thank Travis and the entire staff for helping us through the difficult loss of our loved one.

The Frazier Family

Everything was perfect as always. I've never been to a funeral home that made me feel that we're all family. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you did for me and my family. You made my loved one look like he was sleeping. Thank you so much for that.

The Dodson Family

The quality and accuracy of the services provided was exceptional. My father had already chosen what he wanted and it was perfect. He looked wonderful and I would absolutely recommend your firm to others. Thank you so very much for your kindness. It was so appreciated.

The Triplett Family

Travis and Staff, There are simply not enough words to express our gratitude for everything you did to help us get through a very difficult time. We felt your caring and compassion from our very first meeting. Everyone was so wonderful and gave us such peace and comfort. We will be forever grateful.

Joyce Frazier, Kathy Smith & Family

Thank you for helping my family maneuver through the hours and days immediately following my father's death. Your kindness during this time was so appreciated. You made a very unpleasant experience easier on us and we are so grateful we chose your services. In Peace & Love Kim Wachtel

Steven Vermillion January 14, 2019

Thank you all so much for your kindness, patience and understanding during this time in our family's life. You handled everything with extreme professionalism and everything was perfect. Garnetta looked beautiful, she would have been so happy with how good her hair looked. Thanks again, we are so grateful. Garnetta Johnson's Familiy

Garnetta Madora Lineburg Johnson August 06, 2018

Thank you so much for making this process as stress free and smooth as possible. Most of all for honoring Grace's (Edmonds)wishes with dignity. Sincerely, Stacey Fyre

Stacey Frye October 20, 2017

Dear Michael Thank you so much for taking time to chauffeur Bruce and Pat in your 1966 Cadillac Limousine. The experience was definitely a highlight of the evening on their special anniversary. Your wonderful act of kindness is greatly appreciated.

Kama & Scott

Travis Thank you so much for your wonderful care during preparations for the funeral of H. Harold Lehman. Your gentle directions the of the funeral was also much appreciated. Sincerely The Lehman Family

The Lehman Family June 15, 2017

Dear Travis and Michael: On behalf of the entire extended McCracken family, please accept our deepest appreciation for your thoughtful and considerate service in recent days. From January when we first contacted you through today, your affirmation of you being there for our family has been a great source of comfort, What may be considered small professional actions in your daily routine, are magnified and have a positive impact for a family in grief. Your compassionate manner and willingness to adapt to our needs provided a much needed sense of assuredness. We are grateful for Cal's life and relieved that he is now in God's hands. We have felt God's presence in all things and will be forever thankful for your assistance.

Bobbie and Doug Joyner April 01, 2017

Hello Mr. Phelps: On behalf of my family and friends, I'd like to say what a wonderful job you did for us on November 1, 2014. At every moment you treated everyone with great respect and compassion. My father, Rev. Floyd Murphy, would have enjoyed knowing you. You two would have had a lot to talk about and he would have appreciated your loving spirit. We did not know what to expect of the process. Your guidance allowed us to feel confident that we were in good hands. On the day of the service, I remember seeing you standing guard in many different places, moving around, watching, protecting the family and guests. Your presence and kindness was most most welcome and will not be forgotten. Thank you and may God bless you.

Jayne Murphy November 01, 2014

Travis and staff are compassionate and caring. Phelps went above and beyond for our family at this terribly difficult time. Thank you for your kindness.

Carolyn Gartner April 23, 2020

From the removal of my Dad from Blue Ridge Hospice to Travis helping with arrangements, everything was done with compassion and care. Excellent service. The family appreciates everything y'all have done for us.

Kimberley Vanscoy Oliveto December 28, 2021

Overall excellent service-Thank you! Appreciate the timeliness of getting the death certificate to us.

The Brumback Family

The family of Warren E. Brill Jr. appreciates all that you did for us at this sad time. Everything was excellent. God Bless each of you.

The Brill Family

I had never visited your facility before. I was extremely surprised and happy we picked you for our service. I would definitely recommend Phelps to all my family & friends.

The Price Family

Travis makes everything seen so easy in dealing with a loved one's passing. My mother was cremated and the way everything was set up, was outstanding. Travis made sure everything was just the way I wanted it to be. I always felt comfortable and I would recommend anybody to reach out to you.

The Strother Family

No One expects to loose a daughter at 35 years old. You were there for us, even offering to bring her to our home. Your kindness you may never know how much it meant to us all. God Bless you and your staff. Thank you for all your help with our daughter, Samantha. Marybeth & Tom Sherwood & Jim

Samantha ANne Curnutte August 29, 2018

Michael Phelps and staff, this is way over due. When my partner's mom was passing and we knew it was near, we reached out to you, and you told us to call you and you would take care of everything! WOW! Your response at 2:00 in the morning was great!! I have to say from the beginning to the end you guys were great!! This is the 3rd person I had to have a coming home for and using others for the last 2, this was by far the best experience. Travis you are awesome. The two gentlemen who have to take care of the bodies, and deal with emotional folks like me, my goodness you are fantastic! I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart!! You made it easy for us to let ho! Thank you David and Joerg

Hildegard Gertrud Eichmann August 06, 2018

Thank you for your kind professionalism as you guided us through a very difficult time. I will be forever grateful. Best to you and the staff. Jeff Stern

Edwin Louis Stern May 31, 2018

Michael and Staff Thank you for everything during this difficult time. The special caring touch meant so much. God Bless

Pam Franklin

Dear Michael and Staff What a pleasure to have your staff involved with our annual 5k/10k Butterfly Race for Blue Ridge Hospice. You helped raise over $20k for patients lacking resources. THANK YOU!! Warmly Janne Mezzatesta

Blue Ridge Hospice October 15, 2016

A huge thank you for all that you did with helping Robyn Graves and her family with all the arrangements for her brother, Ty Carper. You made a difficult time much easier.

Steve DuBrueler April 02, 2017

Dear Michael Thank you so much for your professionalism and compassion in handling my father's( Stuart B. Allen) final arrangements. We will miss him tremendously, but at least he is no longer in pain.

Alexis Sherrill November 26, 2014